It’s Wednesday – here are some problems to solve

numbersWe’ve been working to use the standard algorithm with addition and subtraction.  Try to use that strategy in these problems when you can.

The class was planting marigolds.  Each learner in 3E planted four seeds.  Half of the seeds sprouted.  How many marigolds plants sprouted?  The class was also planting radishes.  Each learner 3E planted three seeds.  All of the radishes sprouted.  How many sprouts was that?  What is the difference between the number of marigolds and the number of radishes that sprouted?

Nick went to the store.  He bought a pizza for $12.95 and a gallon of milk for $2.14.  When he got home from the store he saw that he had $5.08 in his pocket.  How much money did Nick have before he went to the store?

There were 1,258 M&M’s in the candy bowl.  Jim ate 429.  How many M&M’s were left in the bowl?

3 thoughts on “It’s Wednesday – here are some problems to solve

  1. 26 marigolds sprouted and 39 radishes sprouted that makes the difference 13. $20.17 is all the money he had before he went to the store. there was 829 M&M’s after jim took some!

  2. I did the last 2 problems…

    First I added $12.95 and $2.14 and $5.08. I added the ones first…I had 17¢ so I traded the 1 into the 10s column and led the 7 in the pennies. Then I added 1+9+1 in the tens column. I got 11. I traded the 1 into the dollars (hundreds) column. and left the other 1 in the tens column. Then I added the 1 to 2 and 2 and 5 and I got 10. So, there were 0 single dollars, but another set of 10$. So there were $20. The total was $20.17.

    I set up the last problem like a regular subtraction problem.
    1,258
    – 429
    ——-
    I traded when I couldn’t subtract in each place value. I found out that there were 829 M&Ms left.

    • Some of these problems are really challenging for our class. You seem to be solving them by taking logical steps one at a time. Thanks for sharing your math thinking with us. We think subtraction with double 00 is super hard. How about you?
      3E

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *