It’s Monday – here are some books to enjoy

messed upA couple weeks ago in my writing class we talked about “messing up” a poem.  We used Battle Bunny as a model for that.  This week when I went to the book store I realized that A Perfectly Messed-Up Story by Patrick McDonnell could also work like that.  In this book the story is messed up by the reader who drops food in the book, spills juice and then reads with dirty fingers.  I think we could have fun with this.  Should we give it a try?

HomeHome by Carson Ellis is simple, interesting and beautiful.  In fact I think it gets more so each time I look at it and find new connections between the illustrations throughout the book.  What homes would you notice?  Would you think about “homes” for the things you collect and fill your workspace with or your room.  Are homes more alike or different?  What do you think?

comparison

 

I like how Whale Trails Before and Now compares the relationship between people and whales now and in the mid-1700’s.  It is an introduction to the whaling industry in Massachusetts and to whale watching now.  This books opens the door to further exploration of both past and present.  It made me decide that I would go on a whale watch – my first – this summer, no excuses.

Check out Willy Maykit in Space, but Greg Trine and Little Joe by Sandra Wallace if you’re looking for a chapter book for independent reading.

new seriesfarm story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *