✏️Quick Write Friday📝

I’ve been exploring Nature Journals and Nature Journaling as a way of slowing down, focusing and taking the time to notice and record all I see.  I came across some resources here.  There are lessons and examples – it is written for adults, but if you scroll through the document you’ll see some amazing journal entries created by kids just like you.  Here are a few of the examples they share:

 

 

I’d love to create a notebook like these.  I’m going to set aside once a week to make an observation in my yard.  From what I see, I will create a journal page sharing what catches my eye.  Maybe as I get better with this practice, I’ll add more times into my week.

Here are some quick write prompts to inspire your journaling.

  • Spend 15 minutes outside observing the natural world around you.  Write and sketch about what you noticed the most.
  • When you go outside, which of your senses are you most thankful to have? Explain why.
  • What is your favorite place outside to explore?  Tell all about it.
  • Write a story of poem in which Nature is the main character, rather than just a setting.
  • What can we do to better protect our natural world?  How will you convince us to take action?
  • Would you rather live in a secret forest, or on a desert island?  Why?
  • Choose an element of nature ( a tree, a flower, beetle, fish, cloud…) and write a poem from its perspective.

Maybe you can take a photograph of your journal and add it too your blog when you’ve got the time.

Happy Writing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *