It’s Monday – here are some books to enjoy

book 1book 2book 3It’s Monday. What are you reading? I just finished The Truth According to Us by Annie Barrows. I’m reading a book about teaching called Learning Targets and I’m finishing up the Smells Like… series by Suzanne Selfors. This is a trilogy I wrote about at the beginning of the summer here. The more I read, the more convinced I am that this is a great set of books for some many of you. It’s suspenseful and funny, fast moving and surprising. Homer Winslow Pudding and Dog are fabulous characters.  Bumbling and smart at the same time.  Start the school year with them. You’ll be glad you did!

The Honest TruthA couple of weeks ago I got a message from Oliver saying that he and his brother were reading The Honest Truth by Dan Gemeinhart as part of a library book group. He said he thought I would like it. It’s on the Great Stone Face list too so I decided to give it a try.  I’m glad I did. It is a perfect book to read with a group. There are so many things to wonder and think about. If your family is interested in a book that will inspire conversations about choices, living, dying, and what is important, this would be a great book to read together.

first 4 Magic BoneAlexis shared the Magic Bone series with me. I’ve yet to read the first one to learn how the “bone” is unearthed, but in the last couple weeks I have really enjoyed several of Sparky’s adventures with his magic bone. He’s gone to Maui, Rome, Switzerland and seven other places so far. What dog lover (Can’t you see why Alexis recommended them!) wouldn’t enjoy seeing the world from a dog’s point of view, learning how dogs might view people, or having the thrill of traveling to different places with a “magic bone.” Sparky gets into some funny and scary situations, but his love for Josh and his appreciation for home always seem to pull him through in the nick of time.

Puppy Pirates 1Puppy Pirates 2Continuing on with the dog theme, Erin Soderberg’s first two Puppy Pirates books have been published. We learned about those when we explored her website during our Quirky celebration. The series begins with Wally, a golden retriever pup, who is looking for a place to belong and call home. He decides to give pirating a try and stows away aboard Red Beard’s ship, The Salty Bone. While in hiding he discovers Henry, another stowaway – different because he is a boy and together they become a team. If they can prove their worth, they can stay. If not, it’s the plank for them both. In Stowaway readers meet all the Puppy Pirates and learn their different personalities. In X Marks the Spot readers get a sense of how these adventures will unfold as the series is written. Catnapped is announced as the third in the series. I think you’ll have fun enjoying the crew of The Salty Bone. Which pup is your favorite – mine might be Old Salt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *