It’s Friday – are you trying something new?

goldfinchThis summer I thought I’d try to write, read a book, and draw a little picture everyday.  I love art, but I don’t feel super confident about what I can do.  I take a long time to sketch because I try to make it perfect; except there is no such thing… so all I really end up doing is using a lot of time.  I thought practice more.   The 3E motto: Practice Makes Progress popped into my head.  My daily drawing goals were to practice contour drawing – to speed myself up a bit – and to try to find a way to put light into my pictures to make them more 3-D.

tufted titmouse

Here’s some of the drawings I’ve done so far.  After working in a little sketch book for a while I thought of putting them in my calendar.  The first two days were fine, but the third one – the second hummingbird – made me feel like quitting.  I thought about getting a new calendar and throwing this one out.  (“Silly!  That’s what learning is – making mistakes.  My class knows that.  I should too.”) and about covering it up with white stickers.  Finally my feathers calendar artMrs. Eaves side won.  Check it out.  I didn’t want to make a unicorn-hummingbird.  But I did!   I’ll be trying again…and again…and again.

Do you have a summer goal?  Maybe you’re practicing to so you can swim out to the deep dock.  Do you have a surfing goal?  Maybe you’re trying to write poems, a story or a series even.  Are you trying something at camp?  Maybe you hope to grow vegetables to enter in a fair.  Maybe you’ll invent a new cupcake recipe.  If you’re working toward something, make a post, or leave a comment and tell us how it’s going.  Summer is a fun time to give different things a try.  Hope to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *